Left. Left. Left, Right, Left…. the battle to find Mr. Right.

So my roommate just met a girl on tinder. What is tinder you ask? It is dating app where you pick three pictures and a few words about yourself and then other can see your picture. They swipe right if they like what they see and left if they don’t. If you both swiped right then it tells you that you have a match and you can now chat on tinder. Very simple, but very superficial. My roommate told me “don’t  knock it until I try it.” So I downloaded it and gave it a shot. He said he originally downloaded it as a joke and didn’t actually think that he would actually meet someone. He jokingly said that there are two rules that you must abide by when you use tinder.

1. If you see someone you know, you have to like them so if they like you, later you can jokingly hit on them and make things really awkward.

2. When swiping left and right you have to say your thoughts out loud as you reject people. I must say there was something very empowering about this.

So here I was swiping left and right saying things like…

“Looks like a douche bag.”

“Looks too old.”

“Looks too short.”

“Looks like a creeper.”

Notice how every single one starts with looks? Here I was being extremely judgmental about every single guy that I saw. The best part about it? THEY WILL NEVER KNOW I REJECTED THEM. It was like I was a soldier… left, left, left, right, left. I was in a battle all right. A battle of finding a good man based off one little picture on this stupid little app with a stupid little name. What does tinder even mean?

But I felt slightly guilty for completely judging people on just looks, so I started looking at people’s tiny little profiles.  One said, “I’m a professional tweeter.” REALLY?! You’re 27 and that is the first thing you want people to know about you? You literally could have said 10 million more intelligent things. Another one said “Arizona till Thursday.” This is when I realized this apps true intentions. It was a hook up app. That’s all it is. I’m cute, your cute, and I’m in the same area you are. Lets hook up. GREAT. Well I am not going to take the time to sift through the million creepers to find that ONE good guy… who probably doesn’t even take the time to use the app anyways.

d213864a97d46d2b7078aedc28501ad8

I deleted the app…  and I am marching on in the quest for Mr. Right… I think that it is going to take a little bit more then swiping right to find him.

Photo cred: http://www.redbubble.com/

8 thoughts on “Left. Left. Left, Right, Left…. the battle to find Mr. Right.

  1. I stopped using tinder a few weeks ago… too many douches for my liking lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

    • Oh cool!! I will have to check that out! I am much more into meeting friends and if it turns into more thats the way to go about it! Not sure how I feel about the whole dating site thing or social media meeting people thing.

      • Yea i wasn’t really into the whole social media dating thing too, but i’m glad i tried it. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: 10 (awkward) ways to meet a guy NOT on social media | Five Years and Finally Single

  3. Well I have no use for Tinder, but I’d love to get my friend to give it a try. Just for fun though, since I”m sure most of the guys on there will only want a one nighter and my bff’s too good for that. Anyway, great post! Makes me want to get on as Darth Vader or some other type of prank lol

  4. ha! that e-card is perfect. the whole tinder thing is so awful, yet i can’t bring myself to look away! i also sing that timber song as ‘tinder’ because i too have no clue what tinder means.

  5. During the brief time that I used tinder, the game I would always play is “which one is he?” Because so many people use pictures that have other people in them but you can usually figure it out between the 5 photos. I learned that 99% of the time it was the less attractive of the two, so I was right 99% of the time.

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Tinder Moments |

Leave a Reply

