Plenty of Fish… Mummified, Zombified, Small Brained, or Poor Mannered

17ad3694fc3bfb54f7d04f3b7332dbd1So I signed up for Plenty of Fish, for those of you who don’t know what it is…. well it is a dating website. My experience on Plenty of Fish has been…. well… not so positive. I feel like the ocean dried up and the only fish left are mummified, zombified, small brained, or just poor mannered fish.

So Mini (see nicknames) and I signed up out of boredom one night and with-in 5 minutes of signing up we already both had 10+ emails each from men that were “interested” in chatting with us. WHOAAAA that was ALOT. We were both super excited until we started looking at who were sending these emails…

The mummified fish…. these men are just too old! Lets put things in perspective, Mini and I are both 23 years old and we both had men as old as 38 messaging us. I feel like it isn’t weird when couples with a large age gap met in person, maybe they work together or had some romantic meeting.  But a large age gap online???? It feels like they are just preying on young girls! Find someone your own age and stop preying on babies like us!

The zombified fish…. the conversation goes a little something like this…

Him: Hi

Me: Hello how are you?

Him: I am good

Me: Thats good.

Him: Yeah.

e8ef1bcb94e9c6fed29844da4c97e024What the HELL is this the most boring conversation ever are you kidding me! I mean you can expect that from someone you meet at the bar face to face. Or maybe you are shy and thats precisely why you are on this sight in the first place. But you are literally hiding behind a computer screen so be yourself and be more interesting!

The Small Brained Fish…. did you proof read your profile… did you proof read your message…. y are u talken like dis…. I mean I am not one to talk, I know my grammer isn’t he best but I did graduate college and I would prefer someone who knows or at least wants to try and put their best gramatical foot forward.

The Poor Mannered Fish…. do NOT ask me if I like handcuffs… do NOT ask me to play the risque question game… do NOT ask me to come hang out with you, at your house, at night…. can you say STRANGER DANGER!

I have had one normal conversation with what seems like a respectable , well mannered, educated, interesting man… but who knows… I did meet him online so we shall see what happens….

Meanwhile in the life of Mini… she has been on three dates with a cute, nice, respectable,  well educated,  athletic man…. WTF is wrong with me 😦 I’m probably just too picky….

On a side note…. I don’ t know if it is on purpose or not but I would be willing to bet that 50% of the men on this site either have a picture of them fishing or a picture of them with a fish they caught. Does this site just attract people who like to fish?

7 thoughts on “Plenty of Fish… Mummified, Zombified, Small Brained, or Poor Mannered

  1. I used Plenty of Fish for all of 15 minutes when I was single and I definitely don’t think it attracts the highest quality of men. Maybe because it’s an older site (and thus why older men tend to use it). But it seems like it’s fallen behind the times as far as online dating goes!

      • Well, it can’t hurt to keep up with it for awhile! Honestly, I haven’t heard much about PoF recently…I thought it had fallen off the online dating map, especially with twenty-somethings. But you never know! Obviously, OkCupid, Match and Tinder are the more popular options for younger people. My friend uses Tinder and even though she hasn’t gotten a date from it, she says it’s a lot of fun! In my experience, OkC is more for people right out of college that maybe aren’t looking for something super serious. Match is for “relationship hunting” and young professionals.

  2. Having read this I thought it was really informative. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this informative article together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

